Something Old, Something New

We cut down our own Christmas tree again this year, but at a new location. It was very speak-easy – basically a guy’s backyard with a small area of Christmas trees. They were definitely a little less full and shaped, but also half-price!! We’ll be heading back there this December.

Looking:

Measuring:

Hanging:

Downing:

But there was something else of much interest (only) to me in this backyard:

I’ve always loved old cemetaries……part of my slight preoccupation with death, I guess. So this was a fun little nugget to come across.

This was all I could find on a old Foss Family in Saco after 5 minutes on Google. Kinda surprising, actually. But I did see a piece on this group late last year on Bill Green’s Maine. I wonder if they have the scoop.

Of course, there are young children in there right along with war vets. A reminder of a different, harder time.

About gumbygoogoo

I love Maine. I hate mosquitoes. I prefer the bottom half of a muffin to the top. Baseball yes. Boxing no. Oh, and I have 3 boys under age 7. This is my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something Old, Something New

  1. Memere says:

    Fun and interesting. Cute grandsons.

  2. If you like cemetaries, then boy do I have a cool one to take you to up by Bethel in the spring. We must go! Love the pics… a fun adventure for sure.

  3. justmyyarns says:

    We live near a cool old cemetery that’s still in use. We frequently take walks through it – a little place of quiet in the city.

Leave a Reply

