Generations

The 5 of us and my dad went to visit his mom – my grammie – in the nursing home last weekend. Grampie died a year ago, and she continues to eek along what must be a lonely and difficult life at this point – 97 years along. Her two sons visit regularly, and she has company in the home. But still.

So it perked her up I think to get a visit from the boys. C’s reaction to her condition and to the scene around him was so innocent and poignant, questioning why she didn’t talk & why everyone there was in a wheelchair. But he was nonetheless comfortable with Grammie – a 97YO woman he hasn’t seen in over a year who barely speaks – and quickly settled in to review with her his favorite Maine critters from his new book.

She also seemed to appreciate the Fetching mitts I made for her……although if I had recalled what a SAUNA that building is I may have thought twice:

Have a nice “first” weekend! “See” you next week. (I’m feeling like the guy who lives in a van down by the river with all those quotation marks.)

About gumbygoogoo

I love Maine. I hate mosquitoes. I prefer the bottom half of a muffin to the top. Baseball yes. Boxing no. Oh, and I have 3 boys in middle school. This is my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

