The 2-Hour Week

So the local schools have issued a challenge to the kids (and their families) this week – to fulfill the “2” part of the 5-2-1-0 Challenge.   So this means 2 hours or less of screen time per day this week. We then sign a pledge saying we succeeded and return it to school, and the student gets a reward.

Sigh. The intentions are good, clearly, but I don’t particularly dig feeling  judged, KWIM? Really, how could I possibly not reutrn this form regardless of level of success? The boys are too young to tell time or have a sense of it either.  Totally up to me. And while I value honesty, I also value not having a scarlet “TV” stamped on my forehead either.  Annoying.

About gumbygoogoo

I love Maine. I hate mosquitoes. I prefer the bottom half of a muffin to the top. Baseball yes. Boxing no. Oh, and I have 3 boys in middle school. This is my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 2-Hour Week

  1. Jen says:

    We have something similar going on here… it’s a fitness card and the kids have to check off how many half hours of exercise they get a day, turn them in and those with the most get prizes. It’s going on until the end of the quarter with prizes given out each month. You know my boys are active, but definitely not as active as others and I hate feeling like I’m a slacker parent for not making them get out and exercise more (hmmm… reading or exercising outside – which should I make my 1st grader do?!). And I hate that they are judged on things like this – especially for an entire quarter….

  2. Christine says:

    Ick! I am all for a challenge but what is the point of issueing a challenge that the kids don’t understand? Television is an as needed breather for parents–that’s my perspective. It’s get ready, get things done, make dinner time. An award?!? Double ick!
    I like a challenge that clicks with the kids. How about the pride (isn’t that ‘award’ enough?) for acts of kindness, generosity and helpfulness. Now that is something I could get on board with and keeping “track” of.

    This is my first look at your blog. : )
    Christine

Leave a Reply

