It’s berry time!

The berry season is upon us in Maine, a little early this year. We start with strawberries in June, and we just snagged our first batch of them at farmer’s market this morning. We have our annual date berry-picking here with friends next weekend – can’t wait for that. I always go hog-wild overboard picking berries, but there’s something therapeutic………….or maybe just OCD, about it for me. And the rewards are very sweet.

Speaking of, here’s one of my favorite strawberry recipes (from this book) that I break out every June. Don’t get me wrong – we eat tons of berries fresh & raw. But let me reiterate – we pick a lot of berries.

Strawberry Bread

(courtesy of the Londonderry Women’s Club, Londonderry, NH)

Makes 1 loaf

1.5 cups mashed strawberries

1.5 cups unbleached flour

1 cup sugar

.5 tsp baking soda

.5 tsp salt

.5 tsp ground cinnamon

.5 cup oil

2 eggs, well beaten

Mix flour, sugar, soda, salt & cinnamon in a large bowl. Make a well in the center & add strawberries, oil & eggs. Mix gently until thoroughly combined. Pour into greased 9×5 loaf pan & bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool thoroughly.

I bought some rhubarb at the market today too, which is a first for me. Planning a strawberry-rhubarb crisp. Cross your fingers for me!

About gumbygoogoo

I love Maine. I hate mosquitoes. I prefer the bottom half of a muffin to the top. Baseball yes. Boxing no. Oh, and I have 3 boys in middle school. This is my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s berry time!

  1. meg says:

    ohh we are also picking right now in MA and i need a recipe to try & use some of them up! i will try this one! thanks!

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp « GooGooGoingsOn

Leave a Reply

