The End of the Beginning

Today marked the end of the beginning – the end of the first era of parenthood for me. This morning, ALL of my boys got on the bus.

The Long Walk:

C leads the way, O brings up the rear & T (who appears to be all backpack) is in the middle:

And so it begins………….

Right at this moment, shown above, I thought I’d shed a tear. But I didn’t. Instead, I very goofily danced my way back across the street as only a woman who’s been at home for 7 years with three boys 26 months apart could. (I’m rather certainly all present who saw it are scarred for life.)

But halfway back up the hill toward home with DH, I stopped in the middle of the road & looked around me, absorbing the still emptiness of the space. And I started to cry. I got into the house, and once again was shocked into tears by the emptiness of the space, the air, the house. Obviously, the house has been empty before…………but this time it’s for real.

The beginning………has ended.  I survivied, & my boys thrived. A pat on the back for me.

About gumbygoogoo

I love Maine. I hate mosquitoes. I prefer the bottom half of a muffin to the top. Baseball yes. Boxing no. Oh, and I have 3 boys in middle school. This is my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The End of the Beginning

  1. meg says:

    congrats on a job well done mom!!!
    time to move on to the next phase of your life!

  2. Melissa says:

    Congrats indeed! They are wonderful and you have done great! Can’t wait to catch up 🙂 A new day is dawning!

  3. Brooke says:

    KT: Wow – what a day for you and for them. They are such adorable little men. You guys have done a great job. Hugs to you from the ATL.xoxoxo

  4. Marisa says:

    Congrats Katie! You did it! The picture of you staring at the bus going down the road almost put me to tears. Enjoy the peace and quiet!

  5. LToran says:

    Katie!! Congratulations – your boys are fabulous, and you and Corey should be proud. The photo of you watching the bus definitely made me tear up…how is it that time has gone by so fast?!

  6. Beth says:

    As the Verve said, Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end. . .

  7. Jackie Marzelli says:

    Sob…..

Leave a Reply

